John Tsamopoulos elected as a Fellow of the European Mechanics Society





Special award session of the 1st European Fluid Dynamics Conference, to be held 16 – 20 September 2024 in Aachen (Germany).

We are delighted to announce that John Tsamopoulos has been elected as a EUROMECH Fellow by the Council of the European Mechanics Society. The citation for this esteemed recognition reads as follows: "The Fellowship has been awarded to Professor John Tsamopoulos for computational and theoretical contributions that enhance the fundamental understanding of moving-boundary flow problems, two-phase flows, and non-Newtonian fluid mechanics, particularly in the domain of elastoviscoplastic fluids."

The official conferment of the EUROMECH Fellow status will take place at the 1st European Fluid Dynamics Conference (EFDC1) scheduled to be held in Aachen, Germany, from September 16 to 20, 2024.





EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Prize and Fellows 2024

https://euromech.org/news/copy_of_fluid-prize-and-fellows-2022

EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Prize and Fellows 2024 have been selected.

The **EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Prize 2024** is awarded to

Prof. Timothy J. Pedley (Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge, UK)

Newly elected **EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Fellows 2024** are:

Prof. John Tsamopoulos, University of Patras (Greece)

Prof. Dwight Barkley, University of Warwick (UK)

Prof. Eric Lauga, University of Cambridge (UK)

The Fluids Prize and the fellowships will be awarded in a special award session of the 1st European Fluid Dynamics Conference, to be held 16 – 20 September 2024 in Aachen (Germany).

At this occasion, the Prize recipient will deliver the Fluid Mechanics Prize Lecture.

Regulations and Call for Fellow Nominations

The status of Fellow of EUROMECH, the European Mechanics Society, is awarded on the occasions of Fluid and Solid conferences to members of the Mechanics community who have contributed significantly to the advancement of mechanics and related fields. This may be through their original research and publications, or their innovative contributions in the application of mechanics and technological developments, or through distinguished contribution to the discipline in other ways.

Election to the status of Fellow of EUROMECH, Fluid or Solid, will take place the year before the appropriate EUROMECH Conference, European Fluid Dynamics Conference (EFDC) or European Solid Mechanics Conference (ESMC), and is limited in total (fluids and solids together) to no more than 0,5% of the actual members of the Society at the time of awarding.

FELLOW COMMITTEES

For each prize, a Prize and Fellowship Committee, with a Chair and five additional members is appointed by the EUROMECH Council for a period of two rounds, that is four years for the Fluid Mechanics Fellowships and six years for the Solids Mechanics Fellowship. The Chair and the five additional members may be re-appointed once

The members of the Fluid Mechanics Prize and Fellow Committee are:

- E. Guazzelli (Chair)
- A. Bottaro
- B. Hof
- C. Martinez-Bazan
- C. Wagner
- S. Waters

EUROPEAN MECHANICS SOCIETY